top of page

The Best Laid Plans...

Van Horn RV Park

Van Horn, Texas

May 7, 2019

Well, the decision has been made.

I woke up still tired and still experiencing “brain fog” so I decided to cancel the rest of the Utah trip.

What this required will probably be rich fodder for future meditations, but right now I’m just too foggy to try to write a meditation. But you can probably imagine the list of hurdles I had to jump to make the decision. I’ll be dealing with the disappointment and emotional fall out for several days at least.

Some good news, though. After a lot of consideration I believe the safety issue is short lived, but, after I get home, I’ll ponder that some more.

The rationalization (at this point) is that this Keto flu is temporary. It’s knocked me down more than I’ve wanted to admit. And I know, given my lack of stamina, if I make future trips I’m going to have to radically revise the style of my travel.

In the latter stages of traveling together, Andrea and I worked out a 2/4/2 travel arrangement was best for both of us--two days travel/ four hours each (200 mile max)/a two day rest stop. That was the plan I laid out for this trip. But after 500 miles, even without the flu, I realized that was no longer workable. Not sure what the new plan will be, but I can guarantee it will be more days on the road rather than more distance covered.

Reflections

At this stage of my life one of the commodities which I have a surplus of is…

Time

I realize this may sound strange given my age. But prioritizing and allocating the hours, days, etc. is an essential part of the sacrament of the present moment. God hasn’t promised me anything past 10:43 a.m. when I’m writing this. The next moment therefore is a precious commodity and I can’t squander it on unessential or frivolous activities.

This even applies to the next several days as I work my way home. Conservation of energy and safety are the two highest priorities in my life for the next several days. Pacing myself--as hard as that is--is essential if I don’t want to relapse.

I have several things that require energy that I need to do around the coach so prioritizing them and resting after each one is essential.

So it appears I have new goal in life even if it’s short term.

But in many ways I know it’s not new. Saying “no” to myself has always been hard.

Till then…

Thanks for yonderin’ with me.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page