top of page

Van Horn - second day

Van Horn RV Park

Van Horn, Texas

April 6, 2019

When I started to write my spiritual blog I realized that I had to “tell it like it was” or there was really no use writing. Sugar coating things would be dishonest. First, to myself. Then to my readers.

So here’s the reality of my trip so far.

I woke up this morning completely discombobulated. I’ve experienced being less mentally alert than I would like to be, but this was far from that. In addition, I was dizzy, my legs felt like rubber and I was really tired even after a good night’s sleep.

I was scheduled to spend two nights in Las Cruces in a very nice campground (as I mentioned) so I began preparing to get on the road. I did my inside checklist, prepped the Subaru for towing and unhooked the electric. Once back inside I started entering my destination when I realized...something was really wrong with my body! If I was going to drive thru El Paso in this condition I was an accident waiting to happen.

A few days before I left I started on the Keto Diet--for real. I’d been “sorta close” in what I was eating, but decided the trip was an idea time to start being serious. In retrospect that was probably not a wise decision.

I think I went into what’s called “Keto flu.” Lots of people never experience it, but some do. Apparently I’m part of the “some” group. I'd describe the symptoms but that seems like overkill. I’m doing all the things you do to stop it. We’ll see how I feel tomorrow.

So...at this point things are really up in the air. I’ve laid out Plans B, C and D. But, all things considered, it’s seems like it’s going to be day by day. The whole trip is in jeopardy at this point. Unless I feel much better in the morning, the thought of driving through El Paso traffic seems really dangerous. I know my reflexes are really slow. (I’m not a very good typist to start with, but I’m having problems writing this, with lots of mistakes that show I’m just not focused.)

And there’s another problem that emerged just before I left.

I feel like I’ve written about this, but I’m too foggy to remember. Forgive me if I repeat myself. It seems an important part of the decision making mix.

Apparently my eye muscles aren’t coordinating like they should. After several attempts at a prescription, with my eyes changing every time we tried we decided to hit a happy medium. I’m safe to drive--both without the glasses and with them--but my eyes get tired quickly and I have to use a lot of energy to focus.

When I turned seventy, Andrea and I had a long discussion and agreed-- and I made a commitment which still stands-- the day she felt unsafe riding with me, or I felt unsafe driving, that would be the end of RVing.

If I decide to head home I’m not going to do anything rash with the coach. But I’m also trying to be open to all possibilities--this “episode” is short lived, or--it’s time to hang up my spurs.

I’ll make tomorrow’s decision tomorrow, and take it a day at a time from there.

Till then…

Thanks for yonderin’ with me.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page