top of page

On the road again...


The Hermitage

21 September 2019

Chris, Tito and I are off on new adventures.

Let’s start with Tito JāBear first since he left for his new adventure this morning. 

While Chris and I are gone to New Wineskins, Tito JāBear will be staying at Patriot Dog Training for obedience. Don’t laugh. Even 3 pounders need “come, sit, stay, heel, etc.”

This is a premier facility here in Bulverde. The owner and head trainer is an ex-Navy dog handler with Seal Team 6. The facility is top notch. The only thing they let us leave this morning was Tito’s dog food!. Blankets, toys, etc are washed/sanitized every single day. 

Because of his coat I have been combing him out every morning. He’ll get the same treatment staying with them. Another big plus...they will be housebreaking him and training him to heel with my special needs in mind.

When we met the owners (his wife handles the front office) we were impressed with Tito’s response to them and their connection with him in just a few moments. They use positive reinforcement training techniques and began during our interview. 

And, of course, they’ll be training me when I pick him up. He and I will probably have refresher training about once a month, and he’ll get a play day too.

Chris and I leave at the crack of dawn tomorrow. No too loud a crack...sunrise is already getting later and later  — 7:21am in the morning.

I’m blessed that Chris is willing to make the trip with me. He’ll be doing the driving since my eyes are still a little wonky. It’s a little over 1200 miles and we plan to make it in three days.

While I’m at New Wineskins, staying at the Ridgecrest Conference Center, Chris has found a wonderful little cabin overlooking the mountains where he will be staying and working. It’s great that he works virtually because as long as he has wi-fi he’s good to go. I suspect he’ll get in some exploring and guitar playing, too.

On the trip up, things get exciting for me. The conference actually starts on Thursday, but Tuesday morning on the way up I plan to stop in at the John C. Campbell School of Folk Art. I have started playing the hammered dulcimer again, so next spring I want to attend a week long course on playing. And the week before that I want to attend a course on photography. 

All that is predicated on three things...first, I’m well enough to drive myself up; second, the facility (which has handicap rooms) meets my needs, and third, God has provided the resources. All of which I’m certain will have positive answers.

Later, on Tuesday afternoon before Chris and I check into our various housing, I’m going to meet with an incredible hammered dulcimer professional musician...Joshua Messick. When I was first considering getting serious about playing again I contacted him. He was most gracious and, when he found out I was going to be in the area, invited me to visit him at his home and studio. This should be exciting for Chris, too, since he’s a certified graduate of Full Sail University. Joshua’s studio is state of the art. 

And the day just gets better! That evening we’re meeting to friends of mine who were on the Danube River Cruise with me. They’re a wonderful couple and I’m excited to spend some time with them again. 

Wednesday holds the promise of excitement, too. Asheville is the center of folk music, and there’s a well known dulcimer maker who has his store (Song of the Wood) and workshop there. I’ll stop in for a while, but I'm sure I won't buy much...errrr...a lot...or.... 

That afternoon I’ll be back at Ridgecrest to rest...but I’m not sure how much rest I’ll get. My missionary friends from literally all over the world will be gathering and how great it’s going to be to get to see them again. 

Thursday the Conference begins. Obviously I’ll be blogging a lot about that.

Till then,

Thanks for yonderin’ with me.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page