top of page

God's largesse...



Sunset at Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

I began writing this meditation on Maundy Thursday. Today, as I worshipped, I realized His largesse is found nowhere greater than in the Gift He gave us on Calvary and which we celebrate today….


Alleluia!

Christ is Risen!

The Lord is risen indeed!

Alleluia!


And yet, only if we experience it in our “everydayness” can we truly know the reality of “The Ultimate Gift ” in our lives!


____________________________________________________________

The Hermitage

April 21, 2019

Easter Sunday


By now it’s no secret that I love to sit on the veranda and watch the birds. I started with one little feeder and now there are four in the backyard and four in the front. Each are filled with different foods--one has niger seed for the finches; two have a mixture of seeds and nuts; one has a special seed that birds are supposed to really like--except it’s always the last one to be empty; and four are hummingbird feeders filled with sugar water.


As I was watching the other day I was reminded of the scripture that gave Andrea and me the courage to go to seminary with two children, flat broke, no job and scared to death--Matthew 6:25-34 “...consider the birds of the air...do not be afraid.” It’s years later and I still cling to that passage.


I wonder if the birds are aware or, or even care about, my largesse. If the feeders are empty they find food elsewhere. God provides.


Which leads me to ponder about God’s largesse in my life...none of which is “deserved.”


Until I received my inheritance, Andrea and I earned very little most of our lives. Often living from paycheck to paycheck--especially in seminary--I know what it’s like to work three jobs and still struggle to put food on the table.


Now, by sheer accident of birth and the generosity of my ancestors, I live the undeserved life with which He’s gifted me. My great grandfather struck oil and divided the income among his eight children (including one whom he had adopted.) Most of them, in turn, shared the wealth with each of their children. I’m grateful that my grandmother recognized her children might not be good stewards of their portions, so she provided for her five grandchildren, of which I am one.


Can you get any more undeserving than that?


And the second vagary is--I have virtually no control over any of it. Circumstances way beyond my little world determine how much He provides each month.


Two paths open before me at this point, so I’ll follow one, then--perhaps--the other. We’ll see where He leads this morning.


Back to my veranda...I watched two hummingbirds fighting over territorial rights to the feeder. One was drinking when a second attacked, diving like a WW II fighter. Doing incredible aerobatics they continued the dispute as they disappeared into the trees on my back forty.


My back forty.” To start with, the title filed with Comal County says I don’t own forty acres. I don’t even own four. To be precise it’s 3.84, and half of that is in a flood plain. The area beyond the veranda is maybe an acre and a half. But I can’t see the fence that denotes the property line, so In my imagination there’s unlimited ranch land beyond the woods that’s “mine.” Sure, someone else holds title to it, but we both just think we own something.


The truth is, for only a season we both have been given stewardship over our little portions of God’s creation. Just like everything else in my life, it’s a myth that I “own” anything. For these few years it’s my responsibility to care for The Hermitage Ranch and all the other “things” He’s provided. When I’ve lived out my allotted years, the government says I can pass them on in my will. But that’s a piece of paper. I have limited control now. Then I’ll have none.


For some reason it’s human nature to think if it’s tactile--if we can see it and touch it--it’s “ours.” But physical (and fiscal) things are no different than the air I breathe. How much of that do I own?


And where do I file my title to

...the clouds

...or the birds

...or the ocean?


A thought just popped into my mind...try hoarding bananas and see what happens!


Let’s follow the other path for a while.


When did I learn to tithe? Well, “learn” is a wonderful euphemism. When I joined the Navy the government was kind enough to send my $76 check to the bank each month. Jack, the owner of the bank, then sent 10% to the local Episcopal Church for me. Now understand, I never asked him to do that. If I had money in his bank he sent my tithe to St. John’s. It was part of the deal.


Let’s have a reality check...if the Navy had paid me in cash do you think I would have sent $7.60 to a church I no longer attended? Or to any of the other ones which, in my exuberant youthful freedom, I didn’t attend either?


Funny how habits begin.


Andrea tithed. She learned it from her parents. So, since each of us tithed, when we vowed "for better or worse, richer or poorer" we continued to make that our first financial priority. No decision necessary. It was “what you do.”


It was a great joy, as I began to teach about stewardship, to learn--to the utter dismay of most of my treasurers--that you don’t have to give, much less tithe. Read Acts 5 about Ananias and Sapphira.


What God gives you is yours. He gives gifts, not bribes...just don’t lie to Him.


I try my best not to.


Ever since I was that $76 a month Seaman Third Class, God has been trying to teach me...


DETACHMENT It intrigued the disciples that the Master who lived so simply would not condemn his wealthy followers. “ It is rare but not impossible for someone to be rich and holy,” he said one day. “How?” “When money has the effect on his heart that the shadow of that bamboo has on the courtyard.” The disciples turned to watch the bamboo’s shadow sweep the courtyard without stirring a single particle of dust.”


Till then…

Thanks for journeying with me.

------------------

The picture is of a sunset I experienced this year as Frank and I drove into Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany. I can tell you HIs presence was as overwhelming then as it is today as I share this with you.


Library of Congress Cataloging-in-Publication Data

De Mello, Anthony, 1931–1987

One minute wisdom.

Reprint. Originally published: Gujarat, India:

Gujarat Sahitya Prakash, © 1985.

1. Spiritual life—Catholic authors. I. Title.

BX2350.2.D384 1986 242 85-29003

eISBN: 978-0-307-80545-4

De Mello, Anthony. One Minute Wisdom . The Crown Publishing Group. Kindle Edition.

Page 83 - Location 538

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page