top of page

Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs and the foxes...

The Hermitage

June 4, 2019



I was sitting on the veranda listening to a new set of headphones. They’re really great. They’re called “open ear” because, in addition to superb audio quality you can also hear sounds around you.


So there I am, listening to “The Fabulous Sound of Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs” and hearing all the songbirds singing in the background. I was listening because I’m learning to play the dobro guitar and they were one of the first bluegrass bands to use one.


As I said, there I am with Spotify on ‘shuffle play’ listening to “When Papa Played the Dobro” and “wham!!” No, that’s not enough emphasis…


WHAM!!!! God got to me again. The next song was


“The Good Things-Outweigh the Bad.”


Now if you’ve been following my blogging you know I’ve been thinking over my life a lot. Well, the first verse of the song is:

“I’ve been sitting here thinking back over my life

All of the good things the trouble and strife

Well my share of heartache yes so many I’ve had

But I still think the good things outweigh the bad.”


But He doesn’t quit with that! Now he’s got to pull out the two-by-four and reinforce the lesson.

Well I’ve rocked my babies at night when they cried

I’ve seen the teardrops turn into smiles

And that’s when I realize all the bad luck I’ve had

And I know the good things outweigh the bad.”


  • Trouble and strife? Check

  • Heartache? Check

  • Bad luck? Check

  • Teardrops into smiles? Check

  • The good things outweigh the bad??? DOUBLE CHECK!


Sorta put things into perspective for me. Isn’t God good?


And then the icing on the cake…


That afternoon I was on the veranda again when Stephanie came over to visit. As we stood there talking she suddenly exclaimed, “Look! Baby foxes!” As we watched the four kits tumble and play on the rock pile over their den Mama Fox trotted through the trees on the Back Forty, headed out for parts unknown.


We watched the kits (they couldn’t have been more than a few days old) for a long time as they explored the rock pile, roamed through the trees, and tussled with each other until they finally sprawled out on the rocks to rest after all the activity. In true brotherly love, one just wouldn’t leave his(?) brother(?) alone until it ceased to be fun.


They were there again this morning. What a joy that The Hermitage Ranch conservatory has new members!


Then, as I was writing this, the rain began to fall, bubbling down the rain chain outside my office/music room. One more reminder of God’s blessings as he gently watered the flowers in Andrea’s garden.


I’m sure I’ll probably be wrestling some more with the what God’s future holds for me, but for today...


The good outweighs the bad!


Till then…

Thanks for journeying with me


Epilogue

Now, as I write this, Spotify is playing “The Streets of London” with Tony Rice. You need to listen to appreciate the irony.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page